Populär i Polen?

En bekant med polskt påbrå tipsade mig om det här blogginlägget om en bok som jag skrev för ganska många år sedan, nämligen  ”Warszawas bödel” som också finns utgiven på polska (Kat Warszawy).

Sagesmannen påstod att det var en positiv recension, men mina kunskaper i polska räcker tyvärr inte till för att förstå sammanhanget. (Förstår dock lite ryska så ett och annat kan jag snappa upp.) Nåja, postar länken här i alla fall, så kanske någon språkkunnigare läsare kanske kan berätta hur det ligger till…

”Kat Warszawy”

8 reaktioner på ”Populär i Polen?

  1. Good evening, Mr. Sennerteg… It’s my blog, of course in my opinion Your book is good. I’ve found it in a little library in Warsaw. I’m sure that’s one of best books about Warsaw Uprising, and great Reinefarth’s biography. I want to thank You for Your very good book and a lot of work. Greetings from Poland. PS. I’m sorry, my English is not good, so I can’t translate my note.

    • Hello Martin! I’m glad to hear that you like the book. It always means a lot to hear what readers think. One of my other books is also translated into Polish, ”Zemsta Stalina 1944–1945”.
      PS. Your English is good.

  2. „Zemsta Stalina”.
    A horrific book… It took me nearly three weeks to read it all.
    It was worse than a nightmare, but it was worth reading. You have created a really great work – all these letters of events’ witnesses, the interviews…
    A lot of people in Poland think that all Germans were murderers, and all Russians were good people. I think that in Germany a lot of of people believe it was the exact opposite. You showed the tragedy of German people, but You also showed, that there were also good men in the Red Army, who sometimes helped the Germans, despite putting their own lives in danger.
    But there is one part where I can’t fully agree with Your opinion (however, You have unquestionably much better knowledge than me).
    You wrote, that the behavior of the Red Army was not an organized action, but at the same time you quoted Erenburg’s articles, proclamations. You are justifying the actions of some Russians by the fact that Germans (Wehrmacht, SS, Einsatzkommandos etc.) have devastated their country and murdered their families. Although, other countries have also suffered during the II World War, their soldiers did not behave in the same way (however I am sure there were exceptions everywhere).
    For example, I have to admit that I have never heard of or read about similar war crimes committed by soldiers of the Polish Army commanded by general Berling that has also fought on the East Front.
    Thank You very much for the information about the book, I will definitely recommend it to my friends, who are interested in the II World War subject. I’ll try to write something about Your book in my blog, too.
    I hope someday Your Goering’s biography (what förhören means?) will be translate.
    Greetings from Warsaw.
    PS. My sister (she lives in Leeds, UK) helped me to write some parts of this commentary in English 😉

    • Hi Martin,
      Thanks for your quick response, I’m glad you found it and liked it. 🙂 I’ll give you a few answers to your comments here:

      1) What I meant when I wrote it was that the atrocities that were committed by Red Army soldiers in Germany doesn’t seem to have been an organized action on the part of the pure military leadership. The hate propaganda by Ilya Ehrenburg and others were organized by the political propaganda apparatus (which also worked within the army). For example, the political functionaries of the Red army where a part of the command structure of the army (as propagandists and overseers of morale and political ”reliability” among the ranks of the troops),but the military leadership could not give orders to the political officers, because they were controlled by the Communist party. The military leaders were interested in keeping their troops fully operational and as long as they were not fighting on German soil they could accept the hate propaganda that came through the political channels. Only when the Red army entered Germany did the effects become fully clear, when discipline completely broke down in a lot of units.

      2) I would not say that I am j-u-s-t-i-f-y-i-n-g some of the Russian war crimes by the horrible crimes committed by Germans in Russia. Its is only an explanation why some of these war crimes were committed, but not the whole background. Other factors as hate propaganda, high losses, short military training also help explain the wave of war crimes.

      3) I have never heard of any such war crimes in Germany by the Polish forces under General Berling. The Polish troops seems to have been much more disciplined.

      4) The title of my Göring book would be: ”Göring – The interrogations 1945”. It is a sort of a biography based on the American interrogations of Hermann Göring during the months before the Nuremberg trial, before Göring knew that there would be a trial against him and what he would be accused of. These interrogation protocols have not been used systematically by historians before, in fact, a lot of them have not been used at all, but they are quite interesting.

      Send my greetings to your sister also, who helped you a bit.

  3. Hi!
    1) Of course, there wasn’t an action organised by soldiers. In some reports of German civilians (in Your book, too) behaviours of Russian troops, especially exclusive (elitar?) was very good. Exatcly as You told, other men are guilty. Maybe in Polish edition difference between guilt of propaganda apparatus and guilt of some soldiers is not as clear as in Swedish, or maybe it’s my misunderstanding, of course.
    2) Upsss. My mistake in translate. Of course, to explain, no to justify. Please excuse me.
    3) I’m so happy, that You’ve never heard of similar crimes comited by Polish troops. I was afraid that You’ll mention some towns, dates, etc. etc.
    (My grandfather was in Berling’s Army. He died some time ago, but he never told about war, even to his sons, I think).
    4) I’m sure that’s very interesting, too.
    Thank You for Your reply and all Your explanations. I’m sure my sister will thank You too 🙂

  4. PS. Both ”to explain” and ”to justify” You can translate into Polish (though maybe not very well) as ”wytłumaczyć”, that’s why my mistake. I’ve really never thought that You want to justify war crimes. One more – I apologize for my mistake (how to say it in Swedish)?

    • You don’t need to apologize for anything. Words often don’t have exactly the same meaning in different languages. It was just a small clarification by my me. 🙂

      BTW – I apologize would be ”Jag ber om ursäkt” in Swedish.

Kommentera

